The Animation Art of Sailor Moon: Ikuko Itoh – Episode 5

 

Episode 5: A Youma’s Scent! Chanelas Steal Love

Ikuko Ito Episode 5 Ikuko Ito Episode 5 Part 2

Ikuko Ito Episode 5 Part 3 Ikuko Ito Episode 5 Part 4

This is a new project I’m starting. Ever since I was a kid, I noticed that there were certain Sailor Moon episodes that had a distinctive animation style, conveying a mastering of both comedy and drama, and looking beautiful all the while. I learned much later on that all of my favourite episodes (just based on their art alone) were directed by Ikuko Ito, who was also a character designer for the series.

Starting with the first episode she directed, #5, what I will be doing is chronogically going through each episode she directed, from the first season to the final episode of SuperS, and showing off scenes with particularly distinctive artwork. It’ll also serve as a chronological history of how her art style evolved.

[The first three episodes covered for this project were in a different image format and had little to no commentary. It was my original intention to redo the screenshots & commentary, but at the rate I’m updating the blog right now, that may never happen.]

This entry was posted in Ikuko Itoh, Sailor Moon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.